We have put together this FAQ to answer any initial questions that you may have about merging your Twitch and Curse accounts.
- What is Twitch?
- What is Curse?
- Why is Curse joining forces with Twitch?
- Will my existing Curse account change?
- What are the benefits of merging my account?
- What happens if I decide not to merge my account?
- What log in credentials do I use to log in with after I have merged my account?
- How do I manage my account information once it is merged with my Twitch account?
- What is a display name?
- What will happen to my display name once I merge my accounts?
- My Twitch and Curse Name are different, which name do I get to use?
- What if I want to change my username once merged?
- What if I have multiple accounts to merge?
- What do I do if I merged the wrong Curse account to my Twitch account?
- What will happen to my Curse account if I disable my Twitch Account?
- What will happen to my Twitch account if I decide to delete my Curse account?
A. Twitch is the world’s leading social video platform and community for gamers, video game culture, and the creative arts. Each day, close to 10 million visitors gather to watch and talk about video games with more than 2 million streamers. We invite you to join the millions of people who come to Twitch to stream, view, and interact around these shared passions together.
A. Curse is a global multimedia and technology company focused on creating content and products specifically for gamers. We provide information and tools to help gamers better enjoy all aspects of their gaming lifestyle.
A. After joining the Twitch family in 2016, Curse has worked to integrate your favorite Twitch content into our sites. With account merging, we’re making it easier than ever to log into your Curse account, and it will also pave the way for exciting site features we have planned for the future.
A. You will not lose any of your account information. You will simply be logging into your Curse account using your Twitch username and password.
A. By merging your Twitch and Curse accounts, you’ll no longer have to keep track of separate usernames or passwords.
A. Account merging is optional on some Curse media sites and required on others (example: Azurilland and Gwentdb). If you are on a site with optional merging and decide to not merge your account, you'll continue logging in with your Curse display name and password. If you are on a site where a Twitch account is required, you will not be able to login without the Twitch account.
Note: This may not apply to the Twitch App. More information on the Twitch App / Curse merge can be found here.
A. You will need to use your Twitch login credentials to log in on Curse after you merge your account.
A. All of your account information will now be handled through Twitch. You can easily access this in the area where you change your account information normally.
A. A display name is the username that appears on the website when you are logged in. This can be different from the username that you use to log in with.
A. If you already have an account on the website then your display name will remain the same. If you do not already have an account, you will be given the opportunity to chose a display name during the merging process.
A. The only time you'll use your Twitch username is when logging in to a merged account. When browsing the site, posting on forums, or logging in to an unmerged account, you'll use your Curse display name.
A. You can change your username on the website by contacting us in customer support here: web-support.curse.com.
A. You can only merge one Curse account into your Twitch account. If you have multiple Curse accounts on the same site, you will need separate Twitch accounts to merge each one.
If you use multiple Curse sites, you will be able to merge one Curse account per site to your Twitch account.
A. You will be able to correct this error in your account settings by clicking the link that says "Merge with a different account".
Note: This does not apply to the Twitch App. More information on the Twitch App / Curse merge can be found here.
A. If you disable your Twitch account, you will not be able to log into your Curse account. The account will remain but you do need that Twitch log in to access the account.
A. We will be able to delete your Curse account without affecting your Twitch account. If this is something that you need to do please contact us here: web-support.curse.com.